Skip to main content
marydean-martin-library-logo

History : Chicago Style

This guide is intended for all those studying history and related disciplines.

Chicago Citation Guide

Chicago Citation Basics

Book

Note

1. First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number. URL or name of database if accessed online.

Ex. 1. Robert Doherty, Disputed Waters: Native Americans and the Great Lakes Fishery (Lexington: The University Press of Kentucky, 2015), 9. https://muse-jhu-edu.ozone.nsc.edu/book/37545.

Bibliography

Author last name, First name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. URL or name of database is accessed online.

Ex. Doherty, Robert. Disputed Waters: Native Americans and the Great Lakes Fishery. Lexington: The University Press of Kentucky, 2015. https://muse-jhu-edu.ozone.nsc.edu/book/37545.

Book Chapter/Section

Notes

2. First name Last name, "Title of Chapter/Section," in Title of Book, ed. First name Last name (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number. URL or name of database if accessed online.

Ex. 2. Abraham Lincoln, "A House Divided," in Ripples of Hope: Great American Civil Rights Speeches, ed. Josh Gottheimer, Bill Clinton, and Mary Frances Berry (New York: Basic Civitas Books, 2003), 66. Literary Reference Center.

Bibliography

Last name, First name. "Title of Chapter/Section." In Title of Book, edited by First name Last name, page numbers. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. URL or name of database if accessed online.

Ex. Lincoln, Abraham. "A House Divided." In Ripples Of Hope: Great American Civil Rights Speeches, edited by Josh Gottheimer, Bill Clinton, and Mary Frances Berry, 65-69. New York: Basic Civitas Books, 2003. Credo Reference.

Journal Article

Note

3. First name Last name, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume #, no. issue # (Year of publication): page number, doi:# if available.

Ex. 3. Elizabeth Cobbs, "Fighting on Two Fronts: World War One, Women’s Suffrage, and John Pershing’s “Hello Girls”," South Central Review 34, no. 3 (2017): 33, doi:10.1353/scr.2017.0024.

Bibliography

Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume #, no. issue # (Year of publication): page numbers. doi:# if available.

Ex. Cobbs, Elizabeth. "Fighting on Two Fronts: World War One, Women’s Suffrage, and John Pershing’s “Hello Girls”." South Central Review 34, no. 3 (2017): 31-47. doi:10.1353/scr.2017.0024.

Newspaper Article

Note

4. First name Last name, "Title of Article," Title of Newspaper, Month day, year of publication, URL or name of database if accessed online.

Ex. 4. A. P. Night Wire, "German Envoys Must Deal with Marshal Foch," Los Angeles Times, November 6, 1918, https://ozone.nsc.edu/login?url=https://search-proquest-com.ozone.nsc.edu/docview/160498056?accountid=7997.

Bibliography

Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month day, year of publication. URL or name of database if accessed online.

Ex. Night Wire, A. P. "German Envoys Must Deal with Marshal Foch." Los Angeles Times, November 6, 1918. https://ozone.nsc.edu/login?url=https://search-proquest-com.ozone.nsc.edu/docview/160498056?accountid=7997.

Audiovisual/Multimedia Content

Note

5. Writer/Composer/Performer(s), Title of Song or Recording, Other Writer/Composer/Perfomer(s), Year of Publication/Issue/Copyright, Recording Label/Publisher, format, length of recording, URL or other electronic identifier if available.

Ex. 5. Barbara Ann Taylor and Karen Schank, Barbara Taylor Undergraduate Oral History Interview, Audio and Transcript, January 9, 2011, oral history, Nevada State College, mp4, 1:19:57, http://hendersonlibraries.sobeklibrary.com/NSC0000066/00001.

Bibliography

Writer/Composer/Performer(s). Title of Song or Recording. Other Writer/Composer/Perfomer(s). Year of Publication/Issue/Copyright. Recording Label/Publisher. format. length of recording. URL or other electronic identifier if available.

Ex. Taylor, Barbara Ann, and Karen Schank. Barbara Taylor Undergraduate Oral History Interview, Audio and Transcript. January 9, 2011. Oral history. Nevada State College. mp4. 1:19:57. http://hendersonlibraries.sobeklibrary.com/NSC0000066/00001.

Website Content

Note

6. First name Last name, "Title of Webpage," Title of Publishing Organization or Name of Website, date of publication if available or date accessed, URL.

Ex. 6. "About Nevada State College," Nevada State College, accessed June 19, 2018. https://nsc.edu/about/.

Bibliography

Last name, First name. "Title of Webpage," Title of Publishing Organization or Name of Website. Date of publication if available or date accessed. URL.

Ex. "About Nevada State College." Nevada State College. Accessed June 19, 2018. https://nsc.edu/about/.

Image

Note/Figure

Image citations can be included in the notes or provided as a caption underneath the image, which should be listed as a figure.

7./Fig. 1. Creator first name Last name. Title of Image. Date of creation, format. Owner of image, accessed date, URL if available.

Ex. 7./Fig. 1. Boulder Dam Workers Strike. 1935, black and white photograph. Acme Newspictures, Inc., accessed June 19, 2018, http://nevadastatemuseumlasvegas.pastperfectonline.com/photo/3DC20DEF-F5B0-4F90-9B9F-161946282717.

Bibliography

Images are not usually included in the bibliography.

Library Books on Chicago Style

Need More Help?

Still have questions? Ask us via quick chat, email library@nsc.edu, or meet with a librarian. We're here to help!