LibGuides: Common Read: Resources

Books Available at the University Library

Related Reading

Did you enjoy All These Wonders? Check out these books on related topics available from the University Library at Nevada State.

See our books guide for more information on how to access books through the library.

The following books are additional titles from The Moth:

How to Tell a Story: The Essential Guide to Memorable Storytelling from The Moth by Meg Bowles et al.
Call Number: PN4193.I5 B62 2022 (Print & Ebook)
Publication Date: 2022
The definitive guide to telling an unforgettable story in any setting, drawing on twenty-five years of experience from the storytelling experts at The Moth.
The Moth Presents: Occasional Magic: True Stories About Defying the Impossible by Catherine Burns (Editor), Meg Wolitzer (Foreword)
Call Number: PN4193.I5 M68 2019 (Print & Ebook)
Publication Date: 2019
The second book in "The Moth Presents" series is another collection of true stories about finding the courage to face the impossible.
The Moth by The Moth; Catherine Burns; Adam Gopnik; George Dawes Green
Call Number: PN1991.77.M675 M68 2013 (Print & Ebook)
Publication Date: 2013
The first collection from The Moth presents fifty spellbinding, soul-bearing stories selected from their extensive archive.

The following books were written by storytellers featured in All These Wonders:

Without You, There Is No Us: My Time with the Sons of North Korea's Elite by Suki Kim
Publication Date: 2014
A haunting account of teaching English to the sons of North Korea's ruling class during the last six months of Kim Jong-il's reign. (Audiobook)
You'll Grow Out of It by Jessi Klein
Publication Date: 2016
From Emmy award-winning comedy writer Jessi Klein, You'll Grow Out of It hilariously and candidly explores the journey of the 21st-century woman.
I'll Show Myself Out by Jessi Klein
Publication Date: 2022
Klein's second collection hilariously explodes the cultural myths and impossible expectations around motherhood and explores the humiliations, poignancies, and possibilities of midlife.
I'm Just a Person by Tig Notaro
Publication Date: 2016
One of America's most original comedic voices delivers a darkly funny, wryly observed, and emotionally raw account of her year of death, cancer, and epiphany.
Figuring Shit Out: Love, Laughter, Suicide, and Survival by Amy Biancolli
Publication Date: 2014
Shockingly single. Amy Biancolli's life went off script more dramatically than most after her husband of twenty years jumped off the roof of a parking garage. Left with three children, a three-story house, and a pile of knotty psychological complications, Amy realizes the flooding dishwasher, dead car battery, rapidly growing lawn, basement sump pump, and broken doorknob aren't going to fix themselves. She also realizes that "figuring shit out" means accepting the horrors that came her way, rolling with them, slogging through them, helping others through theirs, and working her way through life with love and laughter.
I Was a Boy in Belsen by Tomi Reichental; Nicola Pierce (As told to)
Publication Date: 2012
Tomi Reichental, who lost 35 members of his family in the Holocaust, gives his account of being imprisoned as a child at Belsen concentration camp.
The Clancys of Queens by Tara Clancy
ISBN: 9781101903124
Publication Date: 2016
A witty memoir that weaves an authentic coming-of-age tale into a bold portrait of New York’s working-class women.
Pastrix: The Cranky, Beautiful Faith of a Sinner & Saint by Nadia Bolz-Weber
Publication Date: 2013
Nadia Bolz-Weber takes no prisoners as she reclaims the term "pastrix"(pronounced "pas-triks," a term used by some Christians who refuse to recognize female pastors) in her messy, beautiful, prayer-and-profanity laden narrative about an unconventional life of faith.
One Drop: My Father's Hidden Life--A Story of Race and Family Secrets by Bliss Broyard
ISBN: 9780316019736
Publication Date: 2007
In this acclaimed memoir, Bliss Broyard, daughter of the literary critic Anatole Broyard, examines her father's choice to hide his racial identity, and the impact of this revelation on her own life.

Storytelling Game

The Moth has created an interactive card deck that uses true stories to encourage lively conversations, spark creativity, and improve your public speaking abilities. The library has two copies available for check out. Simply bring your Nevada State ID card to the Library's front desk on the 2nd floor of the Rogers Student Center (RSC) building.

The Moth Presents: A Game of Storytelling
A Game of Storytelling features 100 themes, including Love Hurts, Mama Rules, Busted, Fuel to the Fire, Lifelines, Hot Mess, Chemistry, Duped, and many more. Over 300 additional prompts offer riffs on the themes to spark your stories. Use these cards with friends, family, colleagues, classmates, and roommates to connect and revel in the things that make you laugh cry, think deeply, and reimagine the world.

Podcasts

Do you like listening to stories? Check out these storytelling podcasts, including a couple from The Moth!

The Moth Podcast features re-airs of all new episodes of The Moth Radio Hour, plus additional stories from their vast archive recorded over the past two decades. Episodes are released every Tuesday.
Grown is a new podcast from The Moth that is all about the in-between: the nebulous, the liminal, the just plain weird time between those awkward teenage years and full-on adulthood.
This American Life is a weekly public radio program and podcast. Each week they choose a theme and put together different kinds of stories on that theme.
Snap Judgment radio show and podcast mixes real stories with killer beats to produce cinematic, dramatic radio. Snap’s musical brand of storytelling dares listeners to see the world through the eyes of another.
StoryCorps' mission is to preserve and share humanity’s stories in order to build connections between people and create a more just and compassionate world. Their podcast features stories of the human heart. A candid, unscripted conversation between two people about what's really important in life: love, loss, family, friendship.

Borrow Audio Equipment

The University Library has a variety of items available for check out to all Nevada State students, faculty, and staff. To check out an item, bring your Nevada State ID card to the Library's front desk on the 2nd floor of the Rogers Student Center (RSC) building. Items include:

Headphones - Want to listen to a podcast or audiobook? Over-ear headphones are available for Same Day check out.
Microphones - Want to record your own story? Microphones are available for 7-day check out. Specifications include:
- High-quality cardioid mic capsule inside provides reliable and accurate pickup.
- All-in-one Microphone set: microphone with power cord, tripod desk stand with folding feet, mini shock mount, pop filter, and manual.
- TONOR USB computer microphone is suitable for vocal recording, streaming, YouTube video, etc. It is not compatible with Phones, iPad and Xbox.

Research Help

All Databases
A-Z list of all library databases
Library Search
Books, articles, and more
Meet with a Librarian
For help with your research